World Series of Blackjack

The World Series of Blackjack known as WSOB to its fans is a blackjack tournament that brings together some of the world's most talented blackjack players in an effort to win a fantastic grand prize. The Game Show Network airs the tournament in one-hour blocks of footage.

About the Tournament

In each of the four WSOB seasons, 25 to 40 players competed for a cash prize; some of these players were well-known professionals while others had won localized tournaments in order to appear in the WSOB. Like any tournament, some of the players were eliminated from gameplay in each one-hour episode. The rounds lasted 25 hands; players started with a $100,000 bankroll and limits of $1,000 minimum and $50,000 maximum. The shoe contained six decks and the players were allowed to split and double down as they felt was necessary. Two 'knockout' cards added to the shoe added a new level of excitement; players who were dealt these were instantly eliminated.

The Winners

The winner of the first WSOB and the grand prize of $100,000 was Mike Aponte; he had appeared on the Ultimate Blackjack Tour and was a leader in the MIT Blackjack Team. The season two winner of the WSOB and $250,000 was Ken Einiger, who was also part of the Ultimate Blackjack Tour. Season three's grand prize of a staggering half million dollars was won by Jeff Bernstein, and season four's winner Alice Walker took the world by storm with her amazing skills.

The World Series of Blackjack is an incredibly interesting program to watch, even for those who have never played a round of blackjack. New and experienced blackjack players may actually learn a thing or two from watching some of the most proficient players in the world.